Skip to content

Thoughts on IPA Week

March 10, 2010

After sampling nine different IPAs during IPA Week (or so), I have a new appreciation for a style that just a few years ago I often found too acerbic and bitter to be enjoyable.  I’ve come to realize that is a generalization, and that not only are there are both more balanced and more hoppy IPAs to chose from, but that bitterness in beer can be an acquired taste for some.

While its hard to pick a favorite from these nine beers, there are a few standouts for various reasons:

Each one of the nine was enjoyable and distinct for different reasons.  Your thoughts?  Feel free to post comments.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 10:25 am

    Being in Canada and not being able to taste any of these my thoughts are more general. I am a big fan of the North American IPA’s….but I am a confessed hop lover. What I like about the North American IPA’s is the complexity of the Hops used here(spicy,fruity and flowery). Also the are so refreshing!

  2. Paul Griffin permalink
    March 12, 2010 12:58 pm

    I enjoyed your review of the ipa beers. I agree that the Stone IPA is a really drinkable ipa. It has a smooth citrusy taste and doesn’t have that punch you’d expect. I was happy that you noted the work of the Captain Lawrence Brewery. I think he is putting out some great brews and we are luck to have him in our area. I am not sure if you review or tasted another Long Island local Blue Point Brewery ‘s IPA. If you haven’t it you should try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

